Dan's Log - I used to lift. I still do, but I used to, too. (Gary Knuckles Style currently)

A place to track your progress, or lack thereof

Moderator: Chebass88

Dan

Dan's Log - I used to lift. I still do, but I used to, too. (Gary Knuckles Style currently)

Post by Dan » Sat Mar 10, 2018 5:00 pm

How does one begin a training log?

Well...maybe open with some

STATS

Male, 42
6'1" 225lbs
Press 170x1
Bench 235x2
Squat HB 330x2
Squat LB 245x5
Dead (conv) 390x1

History (possible TMI warning)

I started lifting about 8 years ago. Up until that point, I honestly thought people who lifted weights were mentally deficient. I mean, all you need to be is thin and have cardiovascular capacity, right? Muscles make you slow and inflexible anyway. I was about 160lbs. My job involves travelling 15 days per month and fixing machines. My territory is every time zone from Massachusetts to Hawaii. I eventually realized that even the most slovenly of my coworkers had an advantage on me: average adult male strength. Something clicked.

I hit the internet and quickly learned that smart people use barbells and do "compound exercises" and cardio can burn muscle?! :shock: I found Stronglifts 5x5, which is a very well designed website for rank sub-novices. I mean, I'd never heard of or seen a squat. Like, you can do that with a barbell? And here are the steps? Same thing with deadlifts. The pressing exercises were no surprise, but by the time I got to rows, I was obsessed with the whole idea. I found a barbell, plates, bench and power rack on Craigslist and gave the guy asking price if he'd help me disassemble and load the thing into the back of a borrowed truck. I'll never forget the way he looked at me. It was a sort of patronizing pity, although he tried to hide it. "Happy lifting, man!" he said as I closed the tailgate.