KarlM: It's all about the log.

A place to track your progress, or lack thereof

Moderator: Chebass88

KarlM

KarlM: It's all about the log.

Post by KarlM » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:03 am

About me: 43 year old male, 193 lbs, 5'9''. Body fat around 25% (via bio-impedance as well as looking at pics). I started lifting heavy (as opposed to the P90X stuff I did prior to running SS) a little over a year ago and put on about 23 lbs over that time. I guess about half that was muscle, the other half fat. Other noteworthy athletic interests are Judo (I'm a shodan but I haven't trained in a few years) and climbing. In fact, I train at my climbing gym. Chalk is by definition allowed.

Current 1RMs (fairly recent):
Squat - 350 lbs
Deadlift - 425 lbs
Bench - 255 lbs
OHP - 175 lbs
Weighted Chin-ups - 274 lbs (body weight + added weight; body weight taken at gym immediately before attempt and includes clothes, shoes and harness)

After several months of repeatedly tweaking my back due to what was almost certainly a combination of shitty technique and stupid programming (too heavy too often because apparently I'm an ego lifter) I went on Andy Baker's GGW program and am currently in week 5. This is a HLM program with three workouts per week. Things are going well so far, but they haven't gotten too heavy yet so we will see...

My notation is weight (in American) x reps x sets and I'll only list the work sets.

9/19/17 (week 5, workout 1)
Body weight - not measured

Chin-ups, BW x 10 x 2, BW x 8 (did these while waiting for a squat rack).

Low Bar Back Squat (Heavy, 80%)
280 x 5 x 4, about 6 min rest between sets. Shouldn't have eaten Mexican food just prior to squatting...

OHP (M, 75%)
130 x 5 x 3, 4 min rest, still feel too easy. Maybe do some sort of tempo lift for medium OHP to make it more challenging?

Deadlift (M, 70%)
300 x 5 x 3, 5 min rest. Maybe pull from a deficit to make medium DL a bit harder?