Patrick's Novice Log

A place to track your progress, or lack thereof

Moderator: Chebass88

PatrickDB
Have you read this study?

Patrick's Novice Log

Post by PatrickDB » Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm

Hi, I'm Patrick. I'm a novice lifter.

Basic info: male, 5'10", 160 pounds, 24 years old.

I like reading exercise science literature more than I like lifting.
Last edited by PatrickDB on Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:31 pm, edited 6 times in total.

PatrickDB

Re: Patrick's Novice Log

Post by PatrickDB » Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:33 pm

Wednesday, November 15.

Press 117.5 3x5
Squat 185x5/205x5/215x5 (Trying to figure out where to restart LP)
DL 235x5
Two sets of chins (I forget the rep count -- mainly I was trying to see if my abs had healed. There was a little discomfort but not much.)

[video cut for cleanliness]
Last edited by PatrickDB on Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

PatrickDB

Post by PatrickDB » Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:33 pm

Friday, November 17.

Bench 165x5, 150 2x5, close grip 105 3x8
Chins 6x6
Squat 195x5 (I also did a bunch of sets at 155/185 to have people I trust check my form, but I forget the rep counts. By the time we were finished I had been at the gym for about 2 hours, so I decided to do a set of 5 and go home. I do not usually cut workouts like this, I swear.)

I'm still trying to figure out how to close grip bench. I have my index fingers on the smooth part of the bar, and it seems I need to touch a little lower on my chest than usual. If I fully tuck my elbows, it's hard to keep my shoulders back and they tip up at the bottom of the movement. Eric Cressey suggests about a 45 degree elbow angle to prevent this and allow for a slightly higher touch point. That seems reasonable and I'll try it next time.

Wilhelm
Little Musk Ox

Post by Wilhelm » Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:37 pm

Welcome, @PatrickDB.
It's really nice to have you here.

You seem to have put good thought into your lifting so far.
I'm sure you'll do well.