Maureen's NLP Log

A place to track your progress, or lack thereof

Moderator: Chebass88

laikabear

Maureen's NLP Log

Post by laikabear » Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:00 am

Hi everyone... this is my first post. :)

Stats: Female, 40 yo, 5'10", 151 lbs. I live in Pasadena, CA and lift in my garage.

Started NLP 9/2017 and trained for 2 mos, then went on vacation and took 5 weeks off (it wasn't a 5 week vacation, I just was being lame). Started back at 20% lower weights 2 weeks ago.

I've never done weight training before; previously dabbled in running, short distance triathlons and taekwondo. The real reason I started lifting weights was that I'm an avid scuba diver and recently moved up to double tanks, which are heavy. Especially climbing flights of steep stairs at the beach. One of my younger, non-wimpy diving friends recommended Stronglifts, and after looking through that website I stumbled upon Starting Strength. I haven't been keeping an online log of my own, but I have been perusing a lot of the lifters' logs (especially the females) at the SS forums but noticed that many of the most interesting users moved over here. So here I am, trying to get stronger and learn.

Some recent workouts...

12/24/17

Squats: 55x5, 75x5, 95x3, 105x5x3
OHP: 35x5, 45x3, 53x5, 53x4x2, 53x3x2
DL: 150x5, 150x2

Squats and deadlifts were tough - my quads were a bit sore today. My squats look a little high on video. Couldn't get 5 reps on the OHP sets today. Time to switch to 5 sets of 3. And I couldn't do 2 sets of 5 on the DL anymore. I think it's time to switch to 1 set of 5.

12/27/17

Squats: 45x5, 65x5, 85x3, 100x2, 107.5x5x2, 100x5
Bench: 45x5, 57.5x5x3
Deadlift: 155x1, 145x0

On the squats, my form was breaking down and I could tell I wasn't getting depth. I decided to take some weight off the bar next time and try to get my form more dialed in and work my way back up. My quads are still sore today...