This is satire, right? Poe's law in full effect

This is the polite off topic forum. If you’re looking to talk smack and spew nonsense, keep moving along.

Moderators: mgil, chromoly

hsilman
✓ Registered User

This is satire, right? Poe's law in full effect

Post by hsilman » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:17 am

mgil
Shitpostmaster General

Re: This is satire, right? Poe's law in full effect

Post by mgil » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:18 am

I skimmed that last night.

Same narrative as usual.

hsilman
✓ Registered User

Post by hsilman » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:24 am

mgil wrote:I skimmed that last night.

Same narrative as usual.
I started lifting weights in 2011. I found SS shortly thereafter, did my novice LP, felt superior to the guy deadlifting 600# for reps, bouncing with bad posture. Or the guy push pressing 2 plates for reps,cause it wasn't full ROM or something. I knew better, even though I struggled squatting 275. I get feeling that way.

But SS forums made me humble. People knew way more than me. Rippetoe didn't care about your opinion untill you pull 500. It was all, how do I get this novice shit over and start the real grind? All about fixing beginner mistakes.

What the hell is this new "you did SS so now you're the gym Ubermensch" shit? And not just some shmuck kid on the forum, but an article posted on the site by a SSC(TM).

What happened?

Manveer
M3N4C3

Post by Manveer » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:26 am

Are there any SSCs who received the credential before finishing the novice LP? Guessing the answer is "yes".

cwd

Post by cwd » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:27 am

I had that sort of "chosen tribe" evangelical fever for months after starting lifting a few years ago.

It's a magical thing, that conversion from sedentary and weak to lifting and much stronger. You want everyone else to have this wonderful new thing. I became quite obnoxious at family get-togethers.