First ever form check

Ask questions, post videos, help others not screw up

Moderators: mgil, d0uevenlift

Ragholmes

First ever form check

Post by Ragholmes » Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:29 pm

This is my first time ever posting a request for a form check.
I'm assuming there's quite a few things wrong. By all means please tell me all that is wrong, but if it is a real long list could you also prioritize what I should work on first.
Thank you in advance.

BenM

Re: First ever form check

Post by BenM » Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:01 pm

I'm nowhere near as experienced as some of the guys here, and the camera angle probably isn't the best, but these don't look half bad to me. And the weight looks kinda light for you.

If I had to nitpick a bit, your stance might be a little wide (but it's hard to tell due to the angle) and on one or two reps you may have let the bar drift a little forward and got on your toes a bit - not bad at all though.

Wayne

Post by Wayne » Fri Oct 26, 2018 2:48 am

Reps 1,3,4 looked high with the others borderline, albeit it’s notoriously hard to gauge depth from a high angle. I would suggest shooting from hip height and the rear 3/4 angle next time if you can.

It looks like you are not letting your rear end drop into “the hole” which is quite common. I can’t see stance width, but at a guess make it 2-3” narrower and turn your toes out more. Push knees over the toes on the descent (ie don’t let them collapse inwards) and drop into the space created by that wider hip angle.

If you don’t open the hip up you won’t be able to lower yourself into that space so you may feel you can’t go lower, but it’s likely hip related.

As above you look like you’re leaning forward as well but hopefully the above sorts that out. “Sitting back” is a good cue.

Good job with the workout, everyone has room to improve so keep at it. Filming yourself is super helpful, something I don’t do enough to be honest.

Murelli

Post by Murelli » Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:57 am