My New Training Paradigm

All training and programming related queries and banter here

Moderators: mgil, chromoly, Manveer

wiigelec

My New Training Paradigm

Post by wiigelec » Wed Aug 24, 2022 4:46 pm

I haven't made appreciable progress in 8 years. There I said it. Out loud, in public, around people to whom it might matter.

Why, might you ask? Because I'd trusted gurus and their followers, believed that low volume and high intensity was the way. If it wasn't hard it wasn't worth doing. If you weren't grinding out new rep max PR's on a daily or weekly basis you weren't following the program. That it always worked for everybody when they did it correctly. That if it wasn't working it was my fault.

Well I'm done with that shit. I'm done blaming myself. I'm training resistant. I know that because I was 6'1" and 135 pounds when I graduated from college. My nickname all through junior high and high school was "twig". When I sneeze I shed lean body mass. My LP ended early with less than average numbers. I was a drug and alcohol addict for the better part of my life (sober now four years). I know now that being training resistant means I need more work, more volume, more accumulated tonnage, and more time to make progress.

I've been listening to BBM and bought a couple of their templates, so that is what I'm going to be following for now. Ironically, when Into the Great Wide Open came out I was one that thought Jordan was a huge douche. I know better now (sorry Jordan).

So the primary parameters of my new training methodology are as follows: