Light Sumo

Ask questions, post videos, help others not screw up

Moderators: mgil, d0uevenlift

LexAnderson
small whoopie mouse

Light Sumo

Post by LexAnderson » Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:31 am

Posted this in my log, but figured I would post here to get some critiques on my form. Any feedback would be great!

ShuggyBear

Re: Light Sumo

Post by ShuggyBear » Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:42 am

I'm no expert, but you look pretty solid to me. Chris Duffin has some great Sumo instruction you can check out on youtube, here is one...

LexAnderson
small whoopie mouse

Post by LexAnderson » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:07 pm

ShuggyBear wrote: Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:42 am I'm no expert, but you look pretty solid to me. Chris Duffin has some great Sumo instruction you can check out on youtube, here is one...
Thanks Shugg! Duffin is really good at explaining things, must be the engineer in him.

ShuggyBear

Post by ShuggyBear » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:18 pm

My favorite Deadlift cue is... Wedge Yourself Under The Bar

mgil
Shitpostmaster General

Post by mgil » Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:35 pm

The only thing I see worth mentioning is your upper back could stand to be tighter on those last reps in the video.

simonrest
Objectifies Monotremes

Post by simonrest » Wed Nov 08, 2017 6:47 pm

Are you a competitive powerlifter? Are you training to pull sumo in a meet? In any case, stick with conventional deadlifts. Get massively strong pulling conventional, and then feel free to experiment with sumo.

sorry, couldn't resist.

do you have a 3/4 angle video?
I've had a couple of sessions with a high level (masters) PL coach when I was switching to sumo, but the technical advice I got from that I cannot see side on. FYI it was to do with the shin angle, and the difference in use of the adductors to squeeze the bar off the ground, vs using the quads to push off the ground in the conventional.