Mouth Guards - Who Uses Them?

Bands, chains, wraps, straps, racks... are you sure this is training related?

Moderators: mgil, Cody

Skid

Mouth Guards - Who Uses Them?

Post by Skid » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:08 pm

I have been using a mouth guard for 6 months or so and now won't lift heavy without it. I clench my teeth when the weights get heavy. The mouth guard prevents damage to my teeth, and gives me something to bite down onto.

I'm using the new age performance 5ds. I don't know if it improves performance although the makers claim it does by somehow aligning the spine.

I tried the 6ds type and it is a little too big in my mouth and I get the gag reflex from it, but the smaller 5ds is just right. Not sure what other brands are out there but these work quite well.

I won't provide a link but just Google them if interested...

AaronM
Pheasant

Re: Mouth Guards - Who Uses Them?

Post by AaronM » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:08 pm

In the spirit of Pharaoh, "the search function reveals" http://exodus-strength.com/forum/viewto ... uth+guards

Since that thread I've started doing open mouthed valsalva, which works well, and helps keep me from seeing stars and getting light headed. For me, clenching with a mouthguard tended to produce dizziness.

Skid

Post by Skid » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:43 pm

My bad,

I was reading someone's log and they mentioned putting their tongue on the roof of their mouth to help their valsalva and thinking that clenching might work better for them

I did a search in the equipment forum and didn't see anything on mouth guards. Didn't look but I probably posted in the other thread too. Damn oldtimers...

perman

Post by perman » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:33 am